Reminder: Forums are intended for user-to-user support and discussions. Official support replies are not guaranteed.

Remove Static Airliners

Official Support Forum
Post Reply
User avatar
Midnight Music
Verified Customer
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:14 am
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Remove Static Airliners

Post by Midnight Music » Sat Sep 19, 2020 9:04 pm

The new KPDX looks great in MSFS! I would love to have it without static airliners, is that possible?

Lee

User avatar
DMullert
Verified Customer
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:31 am
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by DMullert » Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:18 am

This is a must. I have not purchased the scenery yet, waiting on this response. Dennis

User avatar
iblueyonder
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 11:23 am
Reputation: 13
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by iblueyonder » Mon Sep 21, 2020 5:37 pm

In FSX and P3D scenery, it was fairly simple to create a configurator to let people add or remove various features by including them as separate BGL files that could be renamed to disable them. The issue we're having with doing that in MSFS is that, like X-Plane, the final scenery is baked down to a single file. So any disabling would be done by completely replacing everything. Offhand, I can think of a way we could do that for a single option, like removing the statics, but if we get into more complex situations like allowing multiple options to be enabled/disabled, it going to get unwieldy really fast. So tentatively, yes, I think we can make the statics unselectable. Let me do some experimentation and seed how difficult it would to implement.
Bill Womack
Polypoke & Pixel Cowboy

i7-6700k 4GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce 1070 8GB VRAM - Windows 10 - P3D 4.4

User avatar
DMullert
Verified Customer
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:31 am
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by DMullert » Wed Sep 23, 2020 10:11 am

Thanks a bunch Bill.

User avatar
tdavart
Verified Customer
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 3:18 pm
Reputation: 1
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by tdavart » Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:05 pm

That's very disappointing to hear the MSFS scenery is so restricted. PDX is at the top of my list but AI traffic is something I can't live without, when we eventually get it (preferably AIG).

User avatar
iblueyonder
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 11:23 am
Reputation: 13
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by iblueyonder » Wed Sep 23, 2020 5:38 pm

tdavart wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 3:05 pm
That's very disappointing to hear the MSFS scenery is so restricted. PDX is at the top of my list but AI traffic is something I can't live without, when we eventually get it (preferably AIG).
To be clear, you're not living without AI by having statics. All it means is that a few parking spots are taken up by static aircraft. The rest have full AI, and the vast majority of spaces are available. That said, based on the feedback here, I'll probably just remove the statics in the next build.
Bill Womack
Polypoke & Pixel Cowboy

i7-6700k 4GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce 1070 8GB VRAM - Windows 10 - P3D 4.4

User avatar
vbazillio
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:02 am
Reputation: 0
France
Contact:

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by vbazillio » Wed Sep 23, 2020 9:27 pm

Just to share with you another voice, and another way of enjoying this cool scenery : I fly only small GA. So I always start and end of flight at Flightcraft FBO. I'll never get annoyed by a static aircraft and their real livery is very useful currently in MSFS because all other AI trafics have fake shiny orange-blue liveries.

Static aircrafts are great for my usage of the sim.

User avatar
Nyxx
Verified Customer
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2013 4:29 am
Reputation: 0
Location: EGNX
Great Britain

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by Nyxx » Thu Sep 24, 2020 4:07 am

Hi Bill,
Don't think that because 2 people here would like it removed, we all would. Airliners are really not ready for MSFS yer, but GA is and like vbazillio above I do like the static, I will buy Portland tomorrow, so please don't delete them next built. I know you can never please everyone, so an option looks best.
Thank you.
David Murden.

User avatar
tdavart
Verified Customer
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 3:18 pm
Reputation: 1
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by tdavart » Sun Sep 27, 2020 5:05 pm

So Bill, David has surely bought Portland so you can remove the statics.... :) :)

scubaboy
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:25 am
Reputation: 0
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by scubaboy » Wed Sep 30, 2020 6:32 am

+1 another vote to NOT remove all statics without at least the option to put them back.

I find it kind of depressing to visit an airport and find every single gate empty!

BrzI
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2020 1:25 pm
Reputation: 1
Canada

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by BrzI » Fri Oct 02, 2020 9:46 am

If it is a vote on whether to keep the statics in or not I would say yes - keep them.

a:) they look better than the default AI models
b:) liveries are so much sharper and relevant to the region

Thanks

Sholay
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2020 4:47 am
Reputation: 3
Poland

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by Sholay » Thu Nov 19, 2020 7:32 am

iblueyonder wrote:
Wed Sep 23, 2020 5:38 pm
(...)That said, based on the feedback here, I'll probably just remove the statics in the next build.
Please, please, please do not!
I prefer to have static aircrafts, especially airliners and especially when we do not have AI in realistic liveries.

&

User avatar
iblueyonder
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 11:23 am
Reputation: 13
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by iblueyonder » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:35 am

Looks like I'm leaning towards leaving them in, then, just based on feedback.
Bill Womack
Polypoke & Pixel Cowboy

i7-6700k 4GHz - 16GB DDR3 RAM - GeForce 1070 8GB VRAM - Windows 10 - P3D 4.4

User avatar
Erik
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:31 am
Reputation: 0
Netherlands

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by Erik » Mon Nov 23, 2020 1:04 pm

I also would leave them in for now. There are no AI alternatives yet, instead of the default planes...
CPU: Intel i7 4790K @ 4.40 Ghz | RAM: 16GB DDR3 | GPU: GTX 1080ti | VRAM: 11 GB | MSFS

cdsherlock
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2021 9:21 am
Reputation: 1
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by cdsherlock » Sat Sep 18, 2021 9:23 am

As a VATSIM pilot I only want to see other aircraft that are being operated by real pilots on VATSIM.

mcguirk
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2020 2:37 pm
Reputation: 1
United States of America

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by mcguirk » Sun Nov 21, 2021 8:38 am

As AIG and other AI traffic programs ramp up, I vote for taking them out.

User avatar
tubbsds
Verified Customer
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:44 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by tubbsds » Tue Nov 23, 2021 6:50 pm

I agree with the release of AIG for MSFS it is time to get rid of the statics. Too many gates are taken up now that we have an actual AI option. It would be great if we at least had a choice...

User avatar
Erik
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 12:31 am
Reputation: 0
Netherlands

Re: Remove Static Airliners

Post by Erik » Wed Nov 24, 2021 7:52 am

tubbsds wrote:
Tue Nov 23, 2021 6:50 pm
I agree with the release of AIG for MSFS it is time to get rid of the statics. Too many gates are taken up now that we have an actual AI option. It would be great if we at least had a choice...
I am using on-line AI and coverage is still not that great... How about an option? Other sceneries have that (Jetstream Designs) via Contrail...
CPU: Intel i7 4790K @ 4.40 Ghz | RAM: 16GB DDR3 | GPU: GTX 1080ti | VRAM: 11 GB | MSFS

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest